Friday, January 30, 2009

Hair Clip Order

For those of you wanting clips, I am going to put in the order on Monday morning so I need to know by Sunday morning if you want any and how many you want!

UPDATE: They are out of stock so I will order as soon as they come back!

Tuesday, January 27, 2009

Hair Bows


I am going to be making more hair bows for my girls because I found some really good quality alligator clips with teeth. If anyone is interested in ordering any clips with me they are $3 for 12 clips or $11 for 50 clips plus tax and shipping. They are a 2" clip. I think it would be fun to have a bow making night if anyone is interested let me know!! This is a picture of the clips I am ordering. I am going to try to order in the next week or two so let me know ASAP (leave a comment or email me)!!


Freezer Meals

Tonight I ate the last dinner I had in the freezer. It was a chicken pot pie...pretty good...too bad nobody else will eat it!! I think I need to find small pie tins to make individual pot pies next time. Then I can make them for myself when I want them. I loved having dinners in the freezer to just pull out and throw in the oven. There are days now I wish I had that. I definitely need to get more meals made before Josh has his circumcision surgery in March (we got a date set today for March 6). I also need to look harder at meals that my family will eat. A few things I want to do are calzones, pizza dough, meatballs, meat pies, funeral potatoes, Ritz cracker chicken. I also am wondering if I can freeze bags with all the ingredients to make fajitas (if anyone is reading this and knows if I can put raw green peppers and onions in the freezer let me know). We love fajitas and it would be so nice to have the onions, green peppers, and chicken all ready cut up so all I have to do is throw the bag of stuff in the frying pan with a little seasoning! I also LOVED Maggie's BBQ Beef. It made the best sandwiches. I need to figure out a few more meals that would work and then get to work making them. Maggie, if you want to do it again lets get together and plan it!!

Wednesday, January 21, 2009

Baby Sling

I finally gave in last week and got a baby sling from a friend in the ward. Now I need to know why I held off so long!!! I LOVE IT!!! Josh is a big baby and likes to be held while he sleeps sometimes. Usually on days like that my back would be killing me but not anymore. I can have Josh asleep in the sling and have two hands to do cleaning! I had him in it for quite some time last Friday while I was able to put away laundry. It was amazing. One of the best things about the sling is that I can have Josh in the sling and still carry Aaron (the boy I babysit). It is so great to have two hands again!! Thanks Sarah! If you don't have a sling, go buy one http://www.slingsbysarah.com.

Saturday, January 17, 2009

St. George

The kids and I made a quick trip to St.George today. My mom and dad were running in a 1/2 marathon so we went to cheer them on! I was a little nervous because we did this trip movie-free. We need to get a longer car adapter for the DVD player now that the girls are all the way in the back of the van. I was surprised that they did a great job! Andrea started screaming "GET ME OUT OF HERE! LET GO OF ME!" at the Arizona-Utah state line but was great before that. I let the girls take their "gameboys" (Sammy has a Leapster and Andrea has a princess hand held game) and a pad of paper with crayons. That kept them occupied the whole trip! I was so relieved. Jeff didn't come because he had a funeral to go to.

Sammy and Andrea had a fun time seeing Grandma and Grandpa finish their race. We then went to Wendy's for lunch before heading back to Nevada. Sammy and Andrea were really sad to see Grandma and Grandpa leave. They thought we were going to Grandma's for lunch. I am very grateful we were able to make the trip to St. George to see my mom and dad even though it was only for an hour or two.

Another benefit of traveling to St. George this weekend...Harmon's Case Lot Sale!!! I miss grocery shopping in Utah at Associated Foods stores! We picked up the couple of things we needed and drove back to Vegas.


A little side note about our new grocery savings plan....I went to Fresh and Easy today and was able to get our non-Costco food and spend $25. That included $7 for dinner food in two weeks and a couple dollars on things that were 50% off. I felt pretty good about it!!

Saturday, January 10, 2009

Saving Money

I was watching Dr. Phil the other day while feeding Joshua and they were talking about new year's resolutions and how to keep them. One of the points made by some CNBC money guy was that you should do your grocery shopping at warehouse stores and not at the grocery store and to only go once a month. So, we are trying it. We went to Costco today to get our month supply of Costco stuff. While at the very back of the store, Josh started screaming. So, I thought he was hungry and needed to eat. I walked through the entire store with him screaming and everyone staring at me and saying "OHHHHH, someones not happy." I felt so stupid. Once we got out to the car, he wouldn't eat and kept screaming for 5-10 minutes. I finally got him calmed down and he ate a little and fell asleep. I have no idea what was wrong with him. Anyway, we bought everything we could buy at Costco for the month and headed home. It ended up being more than it should because we had to buy TurboTax while they had the coupon for it. We also bought some shampoo with the coupons. I then went to Fresh and Easy to finish our shopping list (Josh screamed in that store too! I guess he doesn't like grocery shopping!!). Now, we are going to only go to the store to buy perishables. I am hoping to get to Fresh and Easy early in the mornings so that I can get the Today's Special produce at 50% off. I hope we really save money doing this!! I figure that it is also a good way to get food storage built up...especially since it is food we will be using all the time! I will write in a month or so and report on how our food budget is doing.

Wednesday, January 7, 2009

Twilight--to Read or Not to Read

I seem to be one of the only people left that has not joined the Twilight craze. Now, I have multiple people trying to get me to start reading the vampire series. I just have to decide if it is going to be worth it to read the books! I just don't know if they are going to be THAT good!

Monday, January 5, 2009

Joshua Smiles

Josh has started smiling at us! I have tried to upload bigger pictures but it won't work so you are just going to have to look at our smaller email size pictures. Sorry!
Josh wore his new sweater vest to church and I thought he looked really cute in it so this is a picture of that...he wasn't happy so I couldn't get him to smile at me.


This one is my favorites!




Saturday, January 3, 2009

Growing...AGAIN!

I think that my "little" Joshua is growing again!! He was up every two hours last night eating and it seems like all he did all day was eat! I was looking at him today and I can't believe how big he is. I do not have a newborn baby, I have a six month old!! It normally wouldn't be a big deal to have Josh growing but the thing is he is growing out of all his clothes!! I counted yesterday and we have 4 6-9 month old sized shirts (that counts one that is 6-12 months). I can't live with only 4 shirts for him. We go through 3 outfits in one day sometimes because he can spit up all over everything. I am starting to get a little worried because we don't have a lot of money to just go buy a whole wardrobe for this kid! I have searched clearance at Kohl's, Target, Old Navy, and I even went to Ross. I can't find any good deals on little boy clothes. The only good deals I can find in his size are girl clothes. What is going on here??? I guess I am going to have to break down and go to the outlets in the next week or two...anyone want to go!?! I did get lucky and find a two pack of blanket sleeper PJ's at Target on clearance for $5. They aren't Carter's brand (which I love) but they will have to do!

Joshua had his first ear infection! He is too young to be starting this. I took him to the doctor on Monday thinking that he had RSV only to find out he had an ear infection! I was glad he didn't have RSV but now I am worried that he will end up with tubes in his ears...only time will tell. He started smiling in the last week or two. I will try to get a picture uploaded soon but it is not working tonight!! Gotta love dial-up Internet!!!