For those of you that know what we did this weekend you will think that you know what the UGLY part of this post is. Let me assure you that you are WRONG! You will see...
We had an exciting adventure this weekend...we went on our first family camping trip. Yes, we have never been camping with our family before. Jeff did not have pleasant experiences camping when he was younger so he hates camping. By some miracle, he agreed to go camping with some our friends this weekend. He tried to get out of it but I wouldn't let him. I loved going camping when I was younger and have had really great experiences with my family. We didn't get up to the campground until 8:45 PM because the girls had their last swimming lesson on Friday night. Our friends, Brandon and Lynne, offered to take our tent up and set it up for us. That was a HUGE help.
The girls brought up
marshmallows to roast over the fire so they had fun doing that. I am
actually surprised that Josh did so well. I think it helped that the weather was really nice on Friday night so we weren't freezing. He slept lots better than I thought he would. Unfortunately, Jeff said the girls didn't sleep very well. Josh and I got up at 6:00 AM and were the only ones out of the tents at the time. I was able to look around for a little bit at the beauty in the mountains. I LOVE the mountains. It is so peaceful and beautiful up there. I really have missed doing things in the outdoors. My sisters and I used to go hiking and snowshoeing all the time. Ever since getting married that has all ended as Jeff doesn't like to do any of it!
We had a great time and I hope that we are able to go camping again sometime soon. Obviously that is the good part of my post. On to the bad and the ugly...
When we got home from camping we fed the kids lunch, played outside for a bit, and put them all in the tub. I had them all cleaned so I thought I could relax for a little bit while I fed Josh. Ha Ha Ha...that's where it all went wrong!! I was
downstairs contemplating whether or not I should just take a little nap with Josh when disaster struck. Andrea started crying and was coming down the stairs. I was trying not to do much since Josh was asleep on me. Andrea came around the corner covered in poop...yes....covered in poop. It was all over her (I know if I were Maggie I would have grabbed the camera and the thought crossed my mind but I just couldn't do it)! I immediately screamed for Jeff to come quick (which he doesn't do very well). He came down and picked up Andrea by the armpits and put her in the tub. I dreaded going upstairs to see how much damage there was. I went upstairs to find a few
handprints on the stair well...poo all over a corner in Josh's room along with a towel she tried to use to clean it up...and a
poopy handprint on my
door frame. DISGUSTING!!! I got the
Clorox wipes and wiped all the walls and door down, put the towel in a bag to be thrown away, and got out the carpet steamer. I made sure that the water was nice and hot for the steamer and proceeded to clean the carpet in Josh's room. I was out of soap for the carpet cleaner but I wanted to get it all up as fast as I could. I steamed the carpets the best I could and then got ready to go to the store. In the process of getting ready to go buy soap I found the thing that made me even more upset. There was poop on my bedroom floor (by Jeff's side of the bed) and some on my sheets. Apparently, Jeff was asleep and didn't wake up when Andrea tried to get some help! SERIOUSLY...don't you think you should wake up if your daughter is a foot away from you, smelling horribly, and crying????? Needless to say I was just a little upset!
I am going to let you decide where to but the bad and ugly parts of the post but it is all the same in the end!! After shampooing and steaming the carpets a couple times I felt like we had it all cleaned up. And I was able to work out some of my frustration with my daughter and my husband in the process!! To all those out there who think this will never be your child...watch out...I was one of those and look what happened to me!
So...how was your Saturday?????