When I was at the doctor's office last week we talked about the fact that I am not sleeping and the Tylenol PM is not doing anything for me anymore. My doctor wrote out a prescription for Ambien which I was a little skeptical about taking. I took one last night and I actually slept!!! I didn't wake up until 7:30 this morning (okay, so I did get up twice in the night to go to the bathroom but fell back asleep as soon as my head hit the pillow). I have no idea how long it has been that I have been able to sleep an entire night. I love it! I could get used to sleeping through the night...too bad I am going to have a newborn next week to keep me up!! Really I am just kidding about the newborn thing, I can't wait for Joshua to be here and will give up a few hours of sleep for him.
I really though Joshua was going to be born on Friday. I had contractions 5 minutes apart, some a little closer, for about three hours on Friday morning. I should have just gone to the hospital but I kept putting it off and they eventually stopped. Now all I can think about is the fact that I might have been able to have him on Friday and I would have a two day old baby now instead of still being miserable and pregnant!! I have tried to get the contractions to come back that close together but so far I have failed. Trust me, next time I have contractions 5 minutes apart for longer than 30 minutes I will be at the hospital trying to convince them to let me have the baby!!!!
Sunday, October 26, 2008
My Amazing Friend
Saturday I spend most of the day cooking food for dinners. My friend Maggie and I each made 4 meals for the freezer so we could eat more than Wendy's after Joshua is born!! Can I just say Maggie is amazing. She didn't have to help me but she is the one who suggested we do it and she helped make the meals. I don't know what I would do with out her! She gets so many things done it exhausts me sometimes to think about it plus she has four kids! I don't have half the things done she does and I only have two kids. Thank You, Thank You, Thank You Maggie! I am really excited for the meals we made...it is going to be hard to wait until after Joshua is born but I will do it! I also spent all afternoon making a triple batch of chocolate chip cookie dough for Jeff. I hope that is enough to keep him happy for a month!!
Wednesday, October 22, 2008
Girls Night
My friend Maggie gave me a baby shower last night. It was a lot of fun to get together and just talk with the girls. I don't ever seem to get out these days so it was a fun break from everything. I ended up staying until 11:00 and I wasn't the last one to leave!! We got a lot of clothes and baby boy basics to help us out with Joshua. I was so glad to finally have some bibs, towels, socks, and a blanket that are for a boy (clothes are good too)!! It all makes me feel a little more prepared for this baby to come in two weeks. Thanks for a fun night Maggie!
Samantha and Andrea had a fun time "opening" all the presents for baby Joshua today. Samantha would pull all of them out and say "my baby brother is going to love this!" It was a lot of fun to see the excitement on their faces. We have had two people drop by that couldn't come to the shower and you would think they were the ones getting gifts. Both Sammy and Andrea will take the gift and say "I wonder what it is" and then rip out the tissue paper and get all excited about what is inside! It has been a lot of fun for them today.
I have just been really tired today. I got home late last night so I didn't take my Tylenol PM. I was afraid I would be too groggy in the morning. Unfortunately, the few precious hours of sleep I do get are because of the Tylenol PM so I didn't get any sleep last night. I am hoping for a really good sleep tonight (but I am not holding my breath).
Samantha and Andrea had a fun time "opening" all the presents for baby Joshua today. Samantha would pull all of them out and say "my baby brother is going to love this!" It was a lot of fun to see the excitement on their faces. We have had two people drop by that couldn't come to the shower and you would think they were the ones getting gifts. Both Sammy and Andrea will take the gift and say "I wonder what it is" and then rip out the tissue paper and get all excited about what is inside! It has been a lot of fun for them today.
I have just been really tired today. I got home late last night so I didn't take my Tylenol PM. I was afraid I would be too groggy in the morning. Unfortunately, the few precious hours of sleep I do get are because of the Tylenol PM so I didn't get any sleep last night. I am hoping for a really good sleep tonight (but I am not holding my breath).
Saturday, October 18, 2008
C-Section Advice
I am trying to get ready for the upcoming arrival of our little boy but I feel totally lost. Can any of you who have had a c-section help me prepare?? Is there anything special I need to take to the hospital? I am used to just taking a pair of clothes for me and the baby to come home in. Anything else I should know about have a c-section? I am up to any and all suggestions!!
Learning a Lesson
We have been having a problem the last couple of days with Sammy having small accidents. I am very frustrated with her and sick of cleaning up after her. Today we made her put on a pull-up after she had an accident. She was really upset and told us she wears underwear not pull-ups. We obviously didn't give her a choice! As I was putting the pull-up on she told me that they made her "scratchy." I simply said, "Then maybe this will teach you a lesson." She just looked at me and said, "They can't teach me a lesson they don't talk." Once again, I am put in my place. I guess the pull-ups will not be teaching her any lessons because they can't talk to her!!!
Wednesday, October 15, 2008
My Crazy Kids!
Samantha and Andrea were driving me nuts today! They were running around out of control for about an hour this afternoon. I don't know what happened but they hit 4:00 and it was like they got a HUGE burst of energy and didn't know what to do with themselves! We turned on cartoons and got them to sit and settle down for a minute.
Tomorrow I go to the doctor again! I know this is a big shocker but it is true!! I was told they should be checking me to see if I have started dialating yet. I really hope something is going on! I have been having back labor on and off all day today and I am sick of it. Jeff told me I had to have Joshua by tonight so that he could get out of an all day meeting in California tomorrow. I just don't see that happening--sorry Jeff! As of right now my c-section is scheduled for Nov 5. We'll see what they say after tomorrow. As long as I don't go into labor and have normal monitoring appointments that is how it will go. I am just happy that in the next 3 weeks I will not be pregnant anymore!!!!!!!!!! Sammy got a little concerned today telling me that we need to go by baby wash for Josh's baths! I guess that I am not as prepared as I thought I was for Josh to be born...I am just lucky I have a 4-year-old to help me out. :)
Tomorrow I go to the doctor again! I know this is a big shocker but it is true!! I was told they should be checking me to see if I have started dialating yet. I really hope something is going on! I have been having back labor on and off all day today and I am sick of it. Jeff told me I had to have Joshua by tonight so that he could get out of an all day meeting in California tomorrow. I just don't see that happening--sorry Jeff! As of right now my c-section is scheduled for Nov 5. We'll see what they say after tomorrow. As long as I don't go into labor and have normal monitoring appointments that is how it will go. I am just happy that in the next 3 weeks I will not be pregnant anymore!!!!!!!!!! Sammy got a little concerned today telling me that we need to go by baby wash for Josh's baths! I guess that I am not as prepared as I thought I was for Josh to be born...I am just lucky I have a 4-year-old to help me out. :)
Family Picture
Monday, October 6, 2008
Our LONG Weekend!
My kids were not big fans of Conference weekend! Andrea refused to come downstairs on Sunday morning by simply folding her arms and saying "No Thank You, Mom." She complained all day telling us to turn it off because she didn't want to watch it. For some reason she was stuck on watching Pirate Dora so she was upset that we wouldn't let her. Samantha did pretty good. She kept busy doing her Conference Packet that we printed off the Internet. She did ask me when Sunbeam Conference would be on! It was pretty funny.
Joshua performed well today! We didn't have to get buzzed while on the monitor to wake him up and he was breathing just fine when they did the ultrasound! If only he would be that cooperative every appointment. Usually he moves around and gets off the monitor as soon as the nurse walks out of the room!! He just doesn't like all this monitoring. Luckily, it is almost over! Only four weeks (or less) to go!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Joshua performed well today! We didn't have to get buzzed while on the monitor to wake him up and he was breathing just fine when they did the ultrasound! If only he would be that cooperative every appointment. Usually he moves around and gets off the monitor as soon as the nurse walks out of the room!! He just doesn't like all this monitoring. Luckily, it is almost over! Only four weeks (or less) to go!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Wednesday, October 1, 2008
Sammy's "Big Guns"
Jeff has been working with Sammy lately teaching her to hold her arms up and show her muscles only he calls them her "guns." If you ask her about them you will find that she not only has two big guns like most people, she has four of them!! Tonight during her prayers she even had to bless them!! Jeff and I just started laughing...it was really funny!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)