Thursday, April 30, 2009

The Latest Statistics

I really didn't need to go to the doctor to find out I have a big boy...but that was confirmed to me today. Josh went in for his 5 month well check today(even though he will be six months in another week). We got a little behind in well checks when he had an ear infection in January. My little guy is 19 lb 10.5 oz and 26.5" long!!! The shocking part is that he is only in the 90% for weight. I thought for sure that he would be in the 99%!!! Are there so many babies that weigh more than he does??? I guess obesity is really starting early these days because I can't imagine having a 5 month old weigh much more than 20 pounds! I have to laugh at his size because I remember last year everyone (including myself) couldn't believe how big Aaron (the little boy I babysit) was and now Josh is bigger than Aaron was! Plus, I think Aaron was longer than Josh is. Josh just has a nice round middle and looks a little like a sumo wrestler when he is only in a diaper sitting up! It is cute and we love every bit of him! The doctor also told me that it looks like he is getting more teeth on the bottom but it doesn't look like the top gums are swollen yet. I guess he is going to get all his bottom teeth in and then start on the top!

Samantha also had to have her last shot for kindergarten today. She has been talking about this shot for about six months. They were out of the MMR shot when she went for her well check in August so she got the others then. Every couple days she would tell me that she doesn't want any more shots and that shots hurt really bad. I was a mean mom and I didn't tell her that she was going to get her shot today. I thought about it on the car ride to the doctor's office but I wasn't sure I could carry her kicking and screaming into the doctor's while also carrying Josh and keeping track of Andrea. I told her once we were in the exam room because she wanted to know why they called her name too!! The entire 30 minutes that we were there all I heard out of her mouth was "I don't want any more shots. It is going to hurt so bad. Let's go home now!" It was a broken record the entire time we were there. When it came time for the actual shot, she started crying as soon as the nurse walked in the room. She started screaming when I put her on the exam table and continued to scream until the shot was given. After that, she cried for another minute and was done!! I really wish she wasn't so dramatic!

It was a long day. Whenever we have to go to the doctor's office it takes all morning! I am really looking forward to a good night's sleep tonight. I just pray Josh will cooperate! :)

Saturday, April 25, 2009

Happy Birthday!!

Sammy has very thought provoking prayers these days. They are thought provoking because it makes you wonder what is going on in her head. Tonight they were: "Bless us that we can go to church tomorrow. Bless everyone that they can go to church tomorrow, except our neighbors. Bless Daddy that he can still have the Priesthood when he turns 30!" That was it. Don't know where that came from but she has some serious concerns about the Priesthood that Jeff needs to address. :)

On another note, Jeff is turning 30 tomorrow!! Happy Birthday Jeff!!! According to Sammy he is really old now. We had fun playing Wii to celebrate. Sammy had a whole party planned including a game she made out of a coloring book! It was very cute. She had a hard time waiting until 6:30 for our guests to arrive. Thanks for helping us celebrate!!

I finally did it!!

I have had the ribbon cut to make this bow since Conference and I finally made it!! I think it turned out really cute and it easy to make (just took a little time). I don't love the purple butterfly but that is the only thing I could find in our house that would work for a middle piece! It is a little thick so I don't know if I would do all five layers next time but we'll see. Sammy immediately wanted to switch her bow for the flower! I love being able to make cute and fun things for my girls!!

Friday, April 24, 2009

Taking Back Control

I have decided lately that I really need to get back in control of my life so that hopefully I can feel better about myself. I am so tired all the time that I have no energy by the end of the day so nothing ever gets done. I am tired of living in a messy house...I am tired of being fat...I am tired of feeling like this!! I am trying my hardest to get back in control of my house and my body. It might take me some time to do it but I am going to do it. I started this week by buying lots more fruits and veggies to eat. I am more aware of what I am eating and trying to pick better snacks to eat during the day. My next step is to start exercising consistently! I am also going to tackle all the clutter on my kitchen counters. I love it when there is nothing on my counter tops but that doesn't happen all that often.

I get some surprising news today. I was in at the doctor's yesterday and they tested my thyroid levels. They were a little off! There is actually a reason why I have felt really tired and have been a little depressed. Normally TSH levels are around 3 or 4 and mine were at 12. I have hypothyroidism which means my thyroid is underactive. When my TSH levels are high, my thyroid isn't working like it should and I need more medication to make my thyroid work normally. I went to Target this afternoon to pick up the increased dose of thyroid medicine. I really hope that it will help me have more energy and be a little happier...I would also be happy if I could lose a couple more pounds but we'll see!! I hate having thyroid issues and being 100% dependant of medication to function normally but I am really grateful that it is a condition that can be corrected so that I can function normally.

JOSH HAS TEETH!!

I keep forgetting to post on this but Josh has his first two teeth. His first tooth came in a couple weeks ago and the second one finally popped through last weekend! He is a little happier with those teeth in so we are all happy...it just makes him look a little older than his 5-months when he has two bottom teeth! I must say he is a really good baby and is very friendly and smiley (except with that cashier at Wendy's)!!

Bow Night

I had a much needed break tonight. Two of my friends, Sarah and Maggie, came over and we made some bows together. It was fun to be able to show them a quick and easy way to make cute bows for their girls! It was also a much needed break from kids! Let's just say we had a rough day today. Samantha was whiny all day and Andrea really needed to take a nap this afternoon but didn't!!! Needless to say, we were very glad when dad came home.

Wednesday, April 22, 2009

Josh's Charm

Josh is learning fast what he needs to do to get what he wants. We were at Wendy's tonight and the cashier tried to talk to him. He cried!! Josh is usually very friendly and smiles at everyone. It was kind of funny. He does not like this worker at Wendy's. He just stared at her like she was from another planet and then he cried. She kept trying to get a smile but it wasn't going to work. I don't know if it had to do with her being of a different race than we are (is that politically correct enough??) or if he senses something about this person that he doesn't like. Anyway...for all his dirty looks and crying he got a free frosty out of her and one for each of the girls!!! I enjoyed the frosty for him!

Sunday, April 12, 2009

Surgery

We finally got Josh's surgery done!!! I am so happy that it is over with. We were worried because he was really sick on Sunday and had a fever of 102-103. I procrastinated and didn't go to the doctor on Monday because I was praying it would go away on it's own. Tuesday I tried to go to the doctor but he was out of town and I don't like the PA they have. Tuesday afternoon the fever went away!!!!! We were able to go have surgery on Friday. This has been a huge weight hanging over my head ever since we went to the urologist the first week of Josh's life. I can finally relax!

Anyway, we were supposed to check in to the hospital at 8:30 AM (we weren't ever told a time for the surgery). I couldn't nurse Josh after 3:30 AM and he could have water or pedialite until 7:00 AM. Josh was up at 10, 11, and 12 on Thursday night. When he got up at midnight he was wide awake and wanted to play. I stayed with him until 2 AM and then I put him in the crib. He fell asleep sometime before 3 because when I got up at 3 AM to feed him for the last time he was asleep. Josh didn't wake up until 7:15ish so he never got water or pedialite. We didn't think he would take either so we didn't wake him up to give him some. Jeff held Josh all morning because I knew if I held him he would want to eat. The one time I picked him up he was trying to eat!! Josh did try to eat Jeff's shirt once at the hospital but decided it didn't taste good!

My little boy did so good considering he didn't have anything to eat. Around 9:30 or 10:00 he started to get a little harder. We were back in the pre-op area by now so Jeff just walked around with him some to try to keep him happy. The nurse carried him away to surgery at 11:00 AM and Jeff and I had to go back out to wait in the waiting room. It was a little weird to have a nurse take Josh and walk one way while we had to walk the other way. At 12:10 they called me back to the recovery area but wouldn't let Jeff back. I could see the nurse holding Josh in a rocker and he was screaming. He had a breathing tube during surgery so he sounded very hoarse. It was so sad. It broke my heart! I immediately fed him a little and after about 5 minutes he was sound asleep again. He just needed his mommy! The doctor came and talked to me and told me that everything went really well. We can give him a bath tomorrow and the bandage should fall off.

I am actually surprised how well Josh has done. Today he had a rough day and you could tell he was hurting but he has been really good. The hard part is that they don't want him in the Jumperoo or exersaucer for 2 weeks. He LOVES the Jumperoo and jumps for a couple hours a day. It is going to be a long 2 weeks for both of us. He also isn't sleeping well. Last night he was up every hour to hour and a half. Needless to say, I am exhausted and really should be in bed right now because Josh is asleep!

We got lucky with Josh's surgery because it fell during my mom's spring break. I think it was more than luck because I needed her here. It was so nice to have her at my house with my girls while we were at the hospital because I knew that I didn't have to worry about them or rush back to pick them up somewhere. I know that I have lots of friends who would have helped out but it was nice to not worry!! I am very grateful to have such an awesome mom that loves being with her grandkids and is willing to help out whenever possible!!

I think I better go to sleep now and get some rest while my baby rests!