I really didn't need to go to the doctor to find out I have a big boy...but that was confirmed to me today. Josh went in for his 5 month well check today(even though he will be six months in another week). We got a little behind in well checks when he had an ear infection in January. My little guy is 19 lb 10.5 oz and 26.5" long!!! The shocking part is that he is only in the 90% for weight. I thought for sure that he would be in the 99%!!! Are there so many babies that weigh more than he does??? I guess obesity is really starting early these days because I can't imagine having a 5 month old weigh much more than 20 pounds! I have to laugh at his size because I remember last year everyone (including myself) couldn't believe how big Aaron (the little boy I babysit) was and now Josh is bigger than Aaron was! Plus, I think Aaron was longer than Josh is. Josh just has a nice round middle and looks a little like a sumo wrestler when he is only in a diaper sitting up! It is cute and we love every bit of him! The doctor also told me that it looks like he is getting more teeth on the bottom but it doesn't look like the top gums are swollen yet. I guess he is going to get all his bottom teeth in and then start on the top!
Samantha also had to have her last shot for kindergarten today. She has been talking about this shot for about six months. They were out of the MMR shot when she went for her well check in August so she got the others then. Every couple days she would tell me that she doesn't want any more shots and that shots hurt really bad. I was a mean mom and I didn't tell her that she was going to get her shot today. I thought about it on the car ride to the doctor's office but I wasn't sure I could carry her kicking and screaming into the doctor's while also carrying Josh and keeping track of Andrea. I told her once we were in the exam room because she wanted to know why they called her name too!! The entire 30 minutes that we were there all I heard out of her mouth was "I don't want any more shots. It is going to hurt so bad. Let's go home now!" It was a broken record the entire time we were there. When it came time for the actual shot, she started crying as soon as the nurse walked in the room. She started screaming when I put her on the exam table and continued to scream until the shot was given. After that, she cried for another minute and was done!! I really wish she wasn't so dramatic!
It was a long day. Whenever we have to go to the doctor's office it takes all morning! I am really looking forward to a good night's sleep tonight. I just pray Josh will cooperate! :)
No comments:
Post a Comment